What did you do this summer?

This summer I had one goal.  I was to park my butt on the couch and watch all 7 seasons of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and all 5 seasons of “Angel” in chronological order.  You might say, “Wow, what a colossal waste of time,” and you would not be wrong.  But this was something I wanted, nay, needed to do.

My laughable quest began as soon as I successfully defended and fully completed my dissertation in mid-April.  I sat through all 7 seasons of “BtVS”–which to be fair was not a major feat since I’ve already accomplished that task three times (once with commentary) in past years.  Don’t judge me.

For those of you not in the know, “Angel” was a spin-off of “BtVS” and season 1 aired alongside season 4 of its progenitor.  Thanks to Wii and streaming Netflix my task was a lot less difficult.  And by less difficult I mean I didn’t have to get up and change out discs of two different television programs on the DVD player.

And finally, today on the 31st of August I completed season 5 episode 22 of “Angel”.

And it sucked.

My entire summer goal was spent waiting for some miraculous, Joss Whedon masterpiece.  Instead I got a fatter ass and an achy back from an uncomfortable couch.  I was not asking to be spoon-fed a resolution, a nice shiny ending wrapped up in a neat little bow.  But wow.

So, a little lesson to you all.  Go outside.  And pick a better summer goal.

Comments
4 Responses to “What did you do this summer?”
  1. Emily says:

    Haha, sorry it ws such a disappointment, but now you know and knowing is half the battle. =) We should go on a hike one weekend.

    • Kathleen says:

      That is really funny because that was sort of like my goals too this summer…although mine was Buffy and Lost (I was a late lost bloomer and watched every episode of Lost back to back over about a 60 day period) WIth Buffy, however, I was not successful 😦 My goal to watch all the first 6 seasons in a row and then to FINALLY watch season 7…I have watched the first 6 seasons countless times. This is a show, which i maybe should be embarrassed to say (but maybe not 😉 seemed to help me get through some of the most difficult times in my life for the past 10 years, I think, but I still have not been able to bring myself to watch the final season in its entirety…i think because i am afraid of let down as well….maybe it will not contain the answer(s) i am looking for and then what?? 😉 hehe I too have this idea that it might give me answers which in my mind could ultimately provide me with a great epiphany which maybe i can apply to my own life…in all of my current confusion 😉

      Should I watch??? I should…just for closer shouldn’t I? Then I too will hopefully get another goal which might involve the outdoors…i have been a real misanthropic hermit lately…I don’t know what has happened to me 😦 I am getting ready to move further south though…hoping a geographic change might help….I dunno…I am rambling, but it was nice to read your blog….comforting somehow and well written unlike my babble 😉

      Sorry to ramble…miss u…halloweeen season coming though…horay…a good time to get outside anyway right? 🙂 🙂

      • Redbird says:

        Lost is addictive. Karl and I tore through seasons 1-5 on Netflix. Watching it in “Real Time” sucked. And yes, watch season 7 of Buffy! It has more closure than Angel. Gah!!! Can’t believe I sat through it all but I had to do it. Maybe it will be better the second time…….

    • Redbird says:

      We should! I haven’t been out hiking in ages. Probably because one of my hiking shoes is missing half a sole. I’ll get to work on that and let’s do it!

Leave a Reply

